skip navigation

1995 Winner - BRIAN HOLZINGER of Bowling Green State University


The CCHA Player of the Year during the 1994-95 season, Holzinger led the Falcons offensively as a senior with 35 goals and 34 assists for 69 total points. He became only the third player in league history to be named a unanimous All-CCHA First Team selection and a unanimous CCHA All-Academic team selection in the same year. He was a three-time member of the CCHA’s All-Academic team, and his jersey became only the second hockey sweater retired by BGSU, after that of 1982 Hobey Baker Award winner George McPhee. Growing up in Parma, Ohio, Holzinger was a Dean’s List student majoring in business, he achieved a 3.29 GPA. Holzinger was selected by the Buffalo Sabres in the sixth round of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft and spent 10 years as a professional player: five with Buffalo, three with Tampa Bay, one and a half with Pittsburgh, and a half season with Columbus. Holzinger is retired from hockey.


1995 Runner-Up

Chris Imes

University of Maine, Defense






Anson Carter

Michigan State University, Forward




Brendan Morrison

University of Michigan, Forward




Brian Bonin

University of Minnesota, Forward




Brian Mueller

Clarkson University, Defense




Greg Bullock

University of Massachusetts Lowell, Forward




Jay McNeill

Colorado College, Forward




Martin St. Louis

University of Vermont, Forward




Mike Grier

Boston University, Forward